exhibition

CHROMATOPIA

Congratulations to our wonderful sponsor LANGRIDGE ARTIST COLOURS on their new website and upcoming exhibition CHROMATOPIA – a history of colour.

Welcome to Chromatopia, an exhibition on the history of colour.
Spanning thousands of of years, travel through the story of pigments and their incredible journeys from across the globe.
Tales of dragons & beetles, alchemy & poisons, slaves & pirates, from the ancient world to the present come alive in this exhibition on colour’s creation.
This voyage of discovery features pigments made from deadly metals, poisonous minerals, bodily waste, crushed insects and predatory sea snails. Colours dug simply from the ground beneath us, others so expensive that only kings and popes could afford them.
Within the exhibition, see the living process of historical colour manufacture in action.
Also featured is the new world of strange modern colours that only reveal themselves when touched, are invisible in sunlight or shine in the dark.
Opening 6:30pm on the 31st of May and on display from the 1st to the 18th of June 2017.

chromatopia.org

 

Tutor Exhibition

We’re excited to be having an exhibition by our wonderful tutors!  Join us on the 1st of July to meet The Art Room team and see works by:

Godwin Bradbeer / godwinbradbeer.com
Yvette Coppersmith / yvettecoppersmith.com
Filomena Coppola / filomenacoppola.com
Erika Gofton
Ilona Nelson / ilonanelson.com
Nic Plowman / nicplowman.com
Merryn Trevethan / merryntrevethan.com

All the details on FB HERE.

Save

This Wild Song / Launch / Forum / Exhibition

The Art Room is proud to support This Wild Song and host their event!

Last year we raised almost $14,000 from our Pozible campaign for TWS, and thanks to our supporters we’ve been able to have a new and sophisticated website built by Abby Storey from Little Lion Design!

The new website will house 150+ artist features and allow the audience to search for artists by what medium they use and what state they’re based in.  To celebrate the launch of the new website we’re having a party on Saturday June 24th!

/ FORUM
We’re hosting a forum with four TWS artists who will speak about their practice and take part in a Q&A.  The audience is invited to submit questions for the panel prior to the event.  The four artists participating in the forum are:

Terri Brooks www.terri-brooks-artist.com
Louise Blyton www.louiseblyton.com.au
Megan Evans www.meganevansartist.com
Michelle Hamer www.michellehamer.com

/ EXHIBITION
A special pop up exhibition is being held for the launch only.  We’re exhibiting works by 20 of the TWS artists including:

Kim ANDERSON / Louise BLYTON / Terri BROOKS / Celeste CHANDLER / Yvette COPPERSMITH / Filomena COPPOLA / Nanou DUPUIS / Megan EVANS / Erika GOFTON / Kate GOLDING / Michelle HAMER / Dena KAHAN / Justine KHAMARA / Emma LANGRIDGE / Tai SNAITH / Merryn TREVETHAN / Charlotte WATSON

Tickets are limited
First release 8th June
For all the details join the TWS mailing list HERE

For all enquiries please contact Ilona via www.thiswildsong.com.au